Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Missouri Association of Rural Education



Ajax Loading Image


Rural School Board Member

Teddy DeOrnellis

Teddy DeOrnellis has spent multiple years serving the students, parents, patrons and staff as a School Board Member working to improve and support the Paris R-II School District. During his tenure, Mr. DeOrnellis is recognized as someone that goes above and beyond his duties as a board member.

The words “a true advocate for kids and education as a whole,” best describes the dedication that Mr. DeOrnellis has provided, by putting the children of the school first in the decisions he supports as a board member.  During Teddy’s tenure on the board, he has played a significant role in improvements made to the Paris school facilities.  Most recently Mr. DeOrnellis has sacrificed his own time with his construction company to help with the removal of the old scoreboard and the installation of a new scoreboard at the districts football field.  He has also helped lay pipe and rock to fix a drainage problem.  He is always willing to help out and bring his equipment, all without any compensation.

Described as a man of principle, Teddy believes that one of the important values in the education of young people is his ongoing continued support making sure the district students get the best education possible.  As one individual shared, “I listen to Teddy when he speaks, as he thinks before he does and he is thinking of the best for our District.  I have seen the same from other board members.  Teddy is a steadying, calming influence on the rest of the board of education members. They all trust Mr. DeOrnellis and respect him.”

Teddy DeOrnellis, dedication to his family, his career, and the Paris school district has always represented the community of Paris, as a Board of Education member with integrity.  Going above and beyond the expectations for a board of education members, makes him deserving of the honor as the Missouri Outstanding Rural Board Member for the 2014-2015 school year.